Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 105! October 24, 2016

Week 105! October 24, 2016

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

farewellmissionaries

Departing Missionaries

sibuzone2016

Sibu Zone

sibutrio

Elders Jopius, Wimmer & Barlow

Hello Everyone!

This is my last letter! Isn’t that weird? My mission has come to an end and my final full week as a missionary was awesome. I’m sad I won’t be here for our mission’s white Christmas. Sibu has a ton of potential!

Highlights of this week:

We finally met with a potential I met on the bus coming from Bintulu to Sibu when I was getting transferred. I talked to her for a long time and she’s really nice. Yesterday we taught her and she seemed really sincere and listened intently. I think she has a lot of potential and she had a lot of questions, like “why are there so many different churches”. She’s awesome.

Yesterday Elder Barlow and I fasted. Elder Barlow said he’s going to fast every Sunday until the end of the year. I have a testimony of fasting. We actually didn’t have the best plan and our investigator who told us he would come to church didn’t come. We came home after church to do some personal study, after we tried calling some less-active members and potentials who we were hoping to visit, but they didn’t answer/didn’t have time. Then finally one of our potentials answered and we set up to meet with her. that was the one I just mentioned above. But we still didn’t know what we were going to do after we met her. So we left our house, while we were biking I was just saying a prayer in my heart. I knew we didn’t have the best plan and that was our fault, but at least were fasting. I thought that had to mean something, right? It also looked like it was going to rain and one of our former investigators texted us and told us that is was going to rain. Haha Chinese people and rain. We always see our neighbor next door, a little Chinese auntie. She’s really nice. She always talks to us. The other day we helped her pick some coconuts from a tree outside. She says stuff like (in Mandarin) “Oh, you’re going out”, “Are you going to the church?”, and of course when it’s raining she says, “It’s raining!” or “It’s going to rain” Haha good times. I’m going to miss Chinese people.

So anyway, we went to teach that potential. Our lesson was pretty long. She just had so many questions and it was last time to see her. So after I sort of felt bad, then we went to a shopping center called Sing Kwong. I wanted to show it to Elder Barlow. I actually don’t remember ever going inside before. We went there, tried to talk to some people, then we met a group of 9 kids (ages 18-22). They all seemed really nice so we started talking to them. I think they actually said hello to us first. They were all guys besides for one who was one of their wives. The happy couple has been married for 3 weeks. They are all Christian, but don’t go to church. I think half of them are from Kapit. Some are here studying and I think most of them are working. They have time in the evenings and they don’t work on Sundays. Perfect! They also said they want to come to e\English class. It would be huge if we had them come to English class and church. I’m excited for Sibu. I think this Christmas is going to be very “white”.

On Friday we met this lady, who I always talk to at the park in the morning, and her son. It was a miracle that we bumped into them. I actually never knew her name, but we got to meet them. She is really nice and her son, who is 18 years old, is also really cool. They are sort of Christian, but they haven’t been to church for a long time. I think they have a lot of potential.

Our Halloween party was also really fun! I think it was the funnest party I’ve had in Sibu. We had a lot of non-members come. The lady and the son we met on Friday came! As well as some people from English class.

We met once with our investigator ***. He’s awesome. We invited him to be baptized and he said yes, but he had to ask his parents. We asked him, “if you know these things are true, what should you do?” The answer we were looking for “be baptized”, but he said “share it with others” I guess that works too haha. That would be cool if we could get him on a mission!

So basically we met a lot of awesome people, Sibu has a lot of potential, and now I have to leave.

Elder Barlow’s new trainer will be Elder Cook (my younger brother, trained by Elder South). I think Elder Cook will do really well with Elder Barlow. Sibu is in good hands 🙂

I think this is the longest email I’ve sent. I’ll try to write some inspirational stuff.

I know that God loves us. Jesus is the Christ. No man can serve two masters and we are free to choose. So choose God! Choose to be happy! Life is full of temptations, but it’s easy to choose the right when you know the right will make you happy and the wrong will make you sad. It’s like choosing between your favorite food and trash. Of course you’re going to choose to eat the food, not the trash. Each choice we make is important, but if the reason we make our choice is because we love God, then each choice we make will be good. I know this church is true. When we rely on the Atonement, we can do anything. As we account with God through prayer each day and plead for his help and truly “talk” with him, we will become closer to Him and we will be happy. In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

See you in America!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

