Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 104! October 17, 2016

Week 104! October 17, 2016

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

Yay Missionary work! This last week was great. We saw a lot of miracles. Things are happening here in Sibu.

Sadly one of our progressing investigators *** dropped us. She was one of our two progressing investigators. I feel like that seems to happen quite often. You meet someone, they seem golden, maybe you even start teaching them, and then they suddenly don’t want or you lose contact with them. That’s always sad, but it happens, what can you do?

On the bright side, we saw some big miracles. One of them occurred Thursday. Before, I remember having the feeling that we should go to the library for some reason. Then after contacting these college students, who were also pretty cool, one was from Kenya, we decided to go to the library because we might find some prepared people there. It makes sense that the people who go to the library either care about school or they enjoy reading so they’ll be willing to read from The Book of Mormon. So that’s what we did. We actually didn’t have that much time, but we still went there. I feel like we were basically guided to a kid named ***. He was the first and only kid we talked to at the library. He is 19, attends college, reads the Bible and prays everyday, and is pretty open to learning. We didn’t have a Book of Mormon to give to him at the time so we set up an appointment for the next day. Then we taught him The Restoration and he committed to read The Book of Mormon everyday. *** is actually educated. He can read and enjoys reading, and has time to meet! *** is way cool. We’ll see what happens with him.

We also met with a Filipino named ***. He teaches at an international school here in Sibu. He’s a less-active Catholic. Church and religion hasn’t really played a role in his life, but he had a lot of questions (which were all answered by teaching The Restoration). He’s educated too!

This Sunday, we had 34 people at sacrament. That’s the most I’ve seen here in Sibu! I think we have maybe 20 active members and 20 less-actives (some very less-actives), but I’ve still seen them at church at least once or twice. Our goal at the beginning of this transfer was to have 40 people at sacrament. This week, we’ll try to call all the people and encourage them to come. It could happen. I want my last Sunday to be awesome!

I’m excited to see what happens because of the mission wide fast. I think we’ll have a “white Christmas” for sure.

I think one thing our district is still struggling with is finding people, I still have to try to “go crazy” and find some prepared people. I believe they’re out there and that we’re going to find them.

I can’t believe I only have one more week! I’ll try to make the most of it. I really want Sibu to change and progress. It’s sad to think I’ll have to leave Malaysia. Sibu is my home. My “birthplace” and “death-place”. But I guess I’m needed in America.

Thanks for reading one of my last updates! I’ll see you soon 🙂

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

