Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 101! September 26, 2016

Week 101! September 26, 2016

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

Hello Everyone!

This week was also really awesome! I think our area is progressing. We set an awesome vision for our area. Sibu should be seeing some real growth really soon. There haven’t been any baptisms in a while. This transfer we’re trying to build a really strong foundation and make a big teaching pool so future missionaries can Baptize Nations. Me may even get a baptism too.

I know it’s not all about baptisms, but I think that’s what our branch needs. Or at least they need some investigators at church. Our goal for this transfer is to have 40 people at sacrament. Last week, we had 23 and week before we had 27. It’ll be difficult, but I know we can do it.

On Wednesday, Elder Ngatikaura came to our area for exchanges. I think that was the best exchange I’ve been on. It was really great. Though all our appointments fell through and we didn’t meet with anyone we were planning on, we still saw tons of miracles and met some really prepared people. I really tried to contact people differently and be more willing to try new things. It was fun. We met a lot of nice people. One of the miracles we saw was that we met a lady from Indonesia. She is married to a Malaysian so she isn’t illegal. She is also Christian. She actually met with the missionaries before in Indonesia so she wants to be baptized! At least I think so. My Malay is really bad and I was talking to someone else when Elder Ngatikaura was talking to that lady. I realized how speaking both Malay and Mandarin is really helpful. Then you can actually talk with everyone. The native elders that are trilingual have a big advantage.

This week I’ve continued trying to connect with people and to become their friends. We’ve made a lot of friends. I don’t know if that is the best thing, but we’ll see. I can also talk to them when I return to America so I can continue to do missionary work there and help the church grow in Malaysia.

Next week, we hope to be able to meet with a lot of people and get a lot of new investigators. We’re also planning on following up with our investigators every morning and night to see if they have prayed. If not, we’ll pray with them. I haven’t really done this in the past, but I think it’s a good idea and other elders do this well. We’re trying to have really good How To Begin Teaching with our new investigators and start helping them change right from the beginning.

This week, I was reminded about something I learned recently from a couple of talks that both quoted Joseph Smith’s words from his lecture on faith. In order to have faith. We must first have at least the idea that God exists, which most people do. We must also have a correct understanding of god’s character, attributes, perfectness, etc and lastly understand that they way we’re living is in accordance with God’s will. Many people believe/ think God exists, but very few actually understand who God is and what he is like. We’ve been asking people and they really don’t know. So that’s what we’re trying to help people understand. We’re also helping people live in accordance to God’s will through learning and obeying his commandments. That’s what we do as missionaries! We help people develop faith, which also includes repentance, and baptism. It’s all connected! No wonder we teach about God during the first lesson. So many people don’t know who Heavenly Father truly is. Anyway, I love learning these kind of things. It increases my faith. Preach My Gospel is truly from God. God knows what we should teach people.

I hope we can help tons of people come closer to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ this next coming week. It’s going to be great. Elder Barlow is solid. He’s going to be an amazing missionary. I’m lucky I can train him right now.

P-day is going to be awesome. We’re going to get ready to see miracles and obtain our goals. We actually already taught a lesson and received and contacted a referral this morning so we’re off to a great start.

I love the Lord. I love Heavenly Father. I know as we strive to live according to His will. We will truly be happy and feel His hand in our lives. We will be guided and become tools in His hands. Pray to know what you can do live in more accordance to God’s will. I know as you do this and have faith and don’t doubt, God will answer your prayer.

Thanks for reading!

Love,

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

