Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 87! June 20, 2016

Week 87! June 20, 2016

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

Hello Everyone!

Big News! I’ll tell you about my week first though.

This week was definitely an interesting one. We worked a lot on English class things and baptism preparation. A lot of things you’d think wouldn’t take very long, actually do sometimes, especially if you want them to look really good. It took a long time making new English class flyers and putting pictures on the back and a map. We think that should really help people find where the church is though. If you search our church’s address on google maps, you can’t find it, so hopefully now people should be able to find it. Tons of people should come to English class now!

This week we plan on going outside of a school and giving all the students (except for Muslims, which may be difficult if everyone grabs one) English class flyers. I think our English class should be a great finding tool. Elder and Sister Rasmussen are a great help. I feel like English class is kind of an investment of time. It may not produce immediate results, but it should provide a really great opportunity for people to come into the church and will help our investigators “stick” or want to keep coming.

We’re also working on making Sunday meetings more spiritual. I think church has really improved since I first came here. We still teach most of it, but I think it’s getting there. We want church to be a big spiritual boost for everyone. I really enjoy going to church. Last week was pretty refreshing. I love our small group of members.

This transfer, I will be staying here in Bintulu and I’m becoming the district leader. Elder Shirley will be leaving to Kuching and will be district leader there. He’ll be a good district leader. All the members are going to be so sad when they find out he’s leaving. He’s leaving his “birth place”. Kuching was my 2nd area as well. Elder Brown (who was in my MTC group) will be his companion. They should have a good time together. My companion will be……. Elder Ee!!!!!!!

Haha I love Elder Ee. While I was serving in Kuching, I told Elder Ee I would be his companion someday and he finally is. This transfer should be a lot of fun. Elder Ee is one of my favorite elders and he’s a native (from Kuala Lumpur). It’ll sure be different with a new companion, but I think we can still definitely see miracles!

There are 16 English speaking missionaries coming into the mission this transfer. That’s crazy! It didn’t really affect East Malaysia missionaries, but it sure did affect Singapore and West Malaysia. There are a lot of people training now. Anyway, that’s all I’ll say.

Thank you for reading my update. Oh yeah, my father (Elder South) is ending his mission. 😦 I’m sad and happy for him all at the same time.

Okay, that’s all.

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

