Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 69! February 15, 2016

Week 69! February 15, 2016

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

Hello Everyone!

This last week was really good. I think Elder Jones and I are going to get along great. I really like Singapore. I’m really excited to serve in the Second Ward and to get to know all the members. It seems like a really good ward. Elder Jones said he and Elder Cook didn’t get to know the members very well so we’re both pretty new. This Sunday, we got to know some members, hopefully we’ll be able to meet some more in the future.

The Chinese Ward is awesome. It’s all in Mandarin! A lot of the members are from China and Taiwan, a lot of them are Singaporean. I’ve met so many people from China here in Singapore. It’s pretty awesome. They don’t speak English. A lot of them have been working here for a few years or so, but their English is still not that good. A lot older Singaporeans prefer speaking Mandarin.

They have more people in Priesthood than other Branches have at Sacrament!. Serving in wards is different, because Branches depend on the missionaries. If we left, the Branch would really suffer. Also, in Branches, Most of the members are converts so they really have a love for missionaries. In a Ward, they’re actually stable. If the missionaries left, the Ward would still be fine. A lot of the members don’t even meet the missionaries. You’re probably a lot closer to members in Branches. These are just some thoughts I had recently, though I hope to really get to know each member in the ward. The Ward is still a lot smaller than Wards back in the states so I should be able to get to know everyone.

I’m still getting used to Singapore. It’s pretty great though. There are always people to talk to. I still need to adjust my contacting. I’m still not good at timing my contacts, sometimes contacts have to be pretty short, but I think I’m getting more used to it. I think this week is going to be great. I think my faith in opening your mouth and talking with people is increasing. I’ve found that there are a lot of prepared people in Singapore.

One of the miracles that happened last week was that I made it to Singapore safely without any immigration problems. If I remember right, they didn’t ask me anything. We also received a few good referrals. A member brought a couple of his friends to English class. They made English class a lot more fun.

From what I’ve seen, some members, especially the ward mission leader and his family, are really involved in missionary work. I think a lot of the members are willing to help. We have a couple members who are preparing for their missions so we hope to involve them.

Ok I’ll write next week! Bye!

Elder Wimmer

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

