Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 51! October 12, 2015

Week 51! October 12, 2015

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC


Hello Everyone!

This week went really well. It was definitely an improvement.

This week was transfer week so Elder Teh left (on Sunday) and Elder Sasser (Elder Ebeling’s new trainee) came in.

Monday was fun. We just hang out at our house. It was a good break from always being busy on P-day. Later we met with a less active named ***.

Tuesday – We visited a less active named ***. That lesson went alright. *** is having a hard time right now. He doesn’t have any reason for not going to church, at least we don’t know of any one. We met with an investigator named ***. He really likes talking. It’s good that he talks a lot, but we get off track sometimes. Later we met with a 9 year old named ***. He’s Indian. His family is cool, they’re really poor. Our lesson was really simple. It went well.

Wednesday – We got a new investigator. Woohoo. His name is ***. He’s a referral from a member who lives in Kuala Lumpur. We also met with another couple, but they told us they actually weren’t really interested. That’s a really common thing here. Most of the Buddhist people, which is most of the Chinese, don’t want to change religions. I don’t blame them, if some Buddhist people came up to me and wanted to share a message with me and asked me just to try worshiping an idol, I would most likely kindly tell them no thanks. I might listen because it would be interesting, but I wouldn’t worship an idol haha.

Thursday – We did weekly planning. Later we met with a less active named ***. We actually weren’t planning on meeting with him, while we were going home, we were passing by his house and decided just to stop by and share a little message.

Friday – We met with and investigator named *** and her family. We watched the Restoration DVD. That lesson actually went pretty badly. It was just really long.

Saturday and Sunday we got to watch conference!

Elder Chin and I are getting better at talking with everyone and connecting with them. Before, I knew the spirit was necessary in contacting people, but yesterday I actually learned from experience. Our contacting went really well and that’s because we definitely had the spirit . I mean what else could you expect after watching conference all day.

That was one of the faith building experiences I had last week. I know, as I try my hardest to open my mouth, God will fill it. I feel like it’s always awkward the first couple of times, but then it’s fine. If you try to avoid the awkwardness then you’d never talk with anyone.

We’re still having a hard time getting members to participate in missionary work. We had 4 other lessons and 0 member present lessons. We had to reschedule some and some were last minute. This week. We’ll have to do better at scheduling ahead. The calendar we made at church for people to sign up for times will help, but so far, only a couple of members have actually signed up.

I learned a lot from general conference. I loved it. I learned some things I need to apply in my life. I’m excited for this week. Thanks for reading!

Sincerely,
Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

