Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 49! September 28, 2015

Week 49! September 28, 2015

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC


Hello Everyone!

This last week has been an alright week. Not all our plans went through, which is normal, but we had some success. We met some nice people, some rude people, and some people that may have potential. We need to find more though. Our teaching pool is small and we don’t teach very many lessons.

Those few lesson we did teach went pretty well though. We met with a former investigator named A**. She has potential, but we’re not sure we should start teaching her again. We met with some less active families who are really nice, they just need to come to church. One of the problems is the students here have tuition (extra school) every day which makes it hard for them to come to church. Another problem is transport.

I would say the miracle of this week is that our investigator D** is still progressing toward baptism. She is very prepared. She is searching for truth, she just doesn’t know where to find it. We’re helping her. She didn’t attend church because she was sick, but she invited us over to her house for dinner. There, we met her son whom we had never met. He’s 13 years old. We hope we can start teaching him. We got to know the family very well. The family opened up and asked us things they were too scared to ask us the first time we met with them. We also have a lot in common with them.

We ate at some nice places this week. We had lunch at Elder and Sister Mah’s house. Elder Mah used to own his own restaurant. We went to this nice burger place. That was really good. I tried sushi for my first time (ok, technically not my first time eating sushi, but my first time going to a sushi restaurant and trying multiple types). That was fun. I’d say it was fun mostly because of the environment. We also went to Pizza Hut. I’ve always wanted to try stuffed crust pizza. It’s pretty good. We eat pretty well in my mission. 🙂

P-Day was pretty fun. We did an escape room. It’s when you’re locked in a room and you have to get out. Haha there are multiple rooms and it has a theme. The one we did was a insane asylum. It was pretty scary, but fun. It was also really difficult. We may do another one this P-Day.

Anyway, thank you all for reading my update. You’re all awesome. I hope you enjoyed it. If you want to me to write about anything else or if you have questions, just email me. I’d love to answer your questions.

I know this church is true. God truly love each and every one of us. He knows us personally. He helps us overcome our weaknesses and become better. My faith continues to grow. As I try to be a better missionary, God helps me. I learn many things in my studies that I can apply in my life. Though the problem is actually applying those things. There are many things I need to work on. My problem right now is fear. I don’t know, I guess I’ve had fear since I was young and missionaries are now starting to point it out. I seem nervous at times, but as I try to not fear others, to not think what I’m going to say, and as I talk to everyone, miracles happen.

I’ll talk to you next week!

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

P.S. Seriously, no one writes me (except my Grandma Hekekia and my parents), so feel free to.


Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers