Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week 15! December 15, 2014

Week 15! December 15, 2014

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

Selfie at the Internet Cafe

Selfie at the Internet Cafe

Hello everyone!

This week has been amazing! It really has, I’m not joking. I love every day of serving, even when we’re not having much success. Everyday my testimony increases, I can recognize the spirit better, and I learn so much. My mandarin is really improving too. I’m beginning to actually understand a lot now. Before I couldn’t understand much. It’s crazy that I’m done with my first transfer. It’s gone by SO fast. I’m half way done with my training! Alright well here’s my weekly update:

Monday – Flew to Singapore. First flew to Kuala Lumpur then to Singapore. The flights are pretty short and they’re fine. I just try to study. When we arrived we went to a tie shop. Haha the shop owner was funny. After we went to choir practice, which was fun. I don’t do much singing anymore so it’s fun to finally sing again. After we had a service project. We made candy wreaths for orphans. It was fun. The Cultural hall was packed with all the elders and sisters that I’d never seen. That night we stayed in a big house that I guess a senior couple lives in. There were probably like 15 to 20 elders there. It was pretty cool.

Tuesday – Had choir practice and right after had zone conference. Zone conference was great. There were many great talks that I could learn from and apply in my missionary work. For lunch we had pizza which was really good. Later that night we went caroling outside a mall, which was really fun. All these people were watching and clapping.

Wednesday – Our flight was at 12:50pm I think so we just went to the airport early and explored because the airport is really nice. That was really the only exciting thing that happened that day. Our flights went well. Oh I also met a potential investigator that sat next to me on our flight from Kuching to Sibu. Our taxi driver is also a potential investigator. He said we can teach him so we’re excited for that.

Thursday – Had weekly planning which took forever. I love weekly planning even though it takes a lot of time. That is pretty much what we did the whole day, besides a little bit of area book work.

Friday – We ate lunch at a shop where a potential investigator works. He speaks Malay and English so we went with Elder Weston and Vincent. After we met with C which is great because we haven’t met with him for 2 weeks I think. After we met with N. We just decided to drop by and she was there and we met with her. We found out that it was her and her daughter’s birthday! It was great. We sang her happy birthday and she was really surprised we came. For dinner we ate dinner with a member at a cafe.

Saturday – We met with our new investigator and his wife at KFC. I don’t know if his wife is really investigating, but brother G is. We gave him a Book of Mormon and he said he wanted to read it and compare it with the bible so we’re really excited about him. He’s our only progressing investigator now. Our other ones aren’t keeping their commitments and we can’t get a hold of them. Later we went to N and D’s housewarming dinner thing. I’m not exactly sure what it was. I think it was to celebrate them living there for a year. We had food and it was alright.

Sunday – I gave a talk in church about the Book of Mormon. It went well. Elder South spoke about good friends. We taught the 2nd hour class. We taught about Ezekiel’s vision about the temple. Later we met with one of our investigators named J. Sadly I don’t think we’ll be able to meet with him anymore. He said that he starts work at 5am at a coffee shop and ends at 7am and comes to the stereo shop and starts at 7:30am. He said we could teach him at 7am, but I don’t think we’re going to have permission for that. Later we had dinner, did area book work, and did reporting.

Monday – Now I’m emailing and waiting for the transfer map to be emailed to us. (Mom’s note – no transfer for Elder Wimmer or for his companion, Elder South.)

Thank you all for reading my update and for all the prayers you say for me. I’ve loved serving a mission. It’s the best experience I’ve ever had. I know this church is true and i know when you share the gospel with others, God blesses you. I challenge you all to share the gospel with someone this Christmas season and remember the true meaning of Christmas. I love you all and I’ll talk to you next week.

Sincerely,
Elder Maxwell Wimmer

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

