Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week Three! September 22, 2014

Week Three! September 22, 2014

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

This week’s been awesome and it’s gone by so fast! Tuesday was great, choir is always fun. Elder Richard G. Scott was speaking so tons of people came and a bunch of elders couldn’t sing. The devotional was great. Elder Scott spoke about communication with God. You could just feel the spirit when Elder Scott entered the room. Later on tuesday I inherited a bunch of random things from the elders that were leaving. It’s weird not having them here. Even though they weren’t supposed to be here when we got here. I hung up a bunch of posters I inherited and we have a big stash of food.

Wednesday was fun because new missionaries came. I think 450 missionaries came in. I saw Robert Woodford. We inherited a suitcase full of random things that morning and we looted the things we wanted. It’s under my bed now. Apparently the elders before the one’s that just left left the suitcase full of stuff to give to them. So we’ll have to pass on the suitcase also. It’s under my bed now.

On Thursday, we had our weekly service project. Nothing really exciting happened. On Friday, after gym, our room got inspected and we got a perfect score, even though our room wasn’t clean. The inspector came in and we were just getting out of the shower so he just asked us, “Can I trust you? and will you clean your room?, ok perfect score. So that’s good. Our lesson with brother Deng went well, but he always acts tired (because they’re acting). On Thursday, our district also talked about what Disney character we’d be and apparently I’m Flynn Rider, so that’s pretty sweet because he’s the best. We also hung a spider from our classroom door to scare our teacher. It scared her so mission accomplished. Apparently we’re not supposed to do that so woops.

On Saturday we had our first TRC. It went pretty well. We taught a RM, he just got back from his mission (Taiwan I think) 4 months ago and he goes to BYU. Our TRC investigators just sign up so they’re usually members. We also taught two really nice older chinese ladies.

Sunday was great as always. We got to watch the temple dedication. That was pretty cool as well as our sacrament meeting after. Two districts left from my zone and we only have 3 districts now. We won’t get any new elders until not this wednesday, but the one after that. Even though we’re not getting any new elders in our district on wednesday I’m still excited though because we get to be hosts. I’m excited, I want to get new missionaries pumped about the MTC because it’s awesome! Later on Sunday after dinner we had choir practice which is always fun. The song’s are pretty easy, but that’s good because some elders aren’t good. The elders are for sure singing during the priesthood session. Since the sisters sang last year, the elders are singing this year. They’re only allowing 300 elders sing though so hopefully I get in. We had to fill out a survey. The questions were: Have you had voice lessons and for how long? If you were in choir (ward, high school – non auditioned, auditioned, top auditioned) Rate how well you sing: 1-5, how well you sight read 1-5. They’re probably around 500 elders that come on tuesdays. less come on sundays because we don’t sing in the sunday devotional. I’ll probably get in. Don’t worry.

After choir we had an awesome devotional. Gordon D. Brown spoke about what makes a good missionary. He had a lot of helpful advice and it inspired me to improve what I’m doing. There was an organ solo and that was pretty sweet. The second musical number was a tin whistle, viola, and piano trio (I guess). It was really good. Yeah I hope me and Jake can do a musical number during one of the devotionals too. We just need to practice. After, we watched the Testaments. that was good. I’ve already seen it, but I couldn’t remember I’d seen it until the ending.

Today’s been a pretty normal day. We did initiatories in the temple. Did laundry, Destroyed in 4 square. You know, the usual.

Can you send me a big tie clip. I mean you don’t have to but I kind of want one. Oh and I found my class ring in my pocket! and a Singapore flag would be great too, but you don’t have. I dont really need it I just think it would be cool. I don’t need a tie clip either. (I love his indecision!! Gotta send him a tie clip and a Singapore flag.) I didn’t know we had a family motto, but that’s a great “New” one! Good luck with it. I’ll follow it as well. (Sidenote – We started a new before school/Fall tradition and have a family motto). Ours this year is “Work Hard and Be Nice to People”

Thank you all for all the letters people have sent me. Brad’s family wrote me by the way and Dawna sent me a big bag of candy. Thanks! Congratulations to Maile. That’s so exciting! Tell her she has my approval haha. Congratulations to Megan (Remund) as well. She’ll have a great time in the Philippines. I love you mom! Send my love to all our family members and my friends! You’re the best! I promise I’ll get a picture with Jake!

Elder Maxwell Wimmer

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

