Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer

Home » Uncategorized » Week Four! September 29, 2014

Week Four! September 29, 2014

September 2014 – October 2016

Elder Maxwell K. Wimmer
Ni Hao (Hello)
The Singapore Mission includes the countries of Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. Most Mandarin missionaries serve in East or West Malaysia.
Singapore

Malaysia

COMPANIONS AND AREAS

Elder Barlow, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Sabin, Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ee - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Shirley - Bintulu, E. Malaysia
Elder Jones - Singapore
Elder Li - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Chin - Melacca, W. Malaysia
Elder Lundahl-Wolford - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Durrant - Kuching, E. Malaysia
Elder Geilman - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder South - Sibu, E. Malaysia
Elder Ethington - MTC
Elder Clark - MTC

This week’s gone by even faster than last week. Oh by the way I did make it into the choir so don’t worry. I found out monday night after I emailed you. Well anyways here’s my weekly update.

Tuesday was awesome! Our lesson with our new investigator went great. Her daughter had just died and we talked about how the gospel could bless her life. Sadly, she’s not our investigator anymore because we switched teachers. We had a great choir practice too. The devotional after was sweet. Elder M. Russell Ballard spoke. He didn’t have a talk written, he just spoke to us like we were his grandkids. He gave us advice on how we could be better missionaries.

On Wednesday we had the opportunity to host. It was pretty fun. I only hosted two elders named Elder Mueller (I think) and Elder Virgin. I always see them. It was really hot outside, well not that hot, but I sweat a lot. Carrying their heavy bags was kind of hard when you had to carry them up 3 levels of stairs. After hosting we went to our malaria appointment. When we’re out in the field. We’ll have to take pills to prevent malaria. After our appointment we went to class. We have a great new teacher named wu lao shi. She talks really fast and I it’s hard to understand her. Later that day we had to teach our other investigator Brother Deng. We didn’t know we were teaching him so we weren’t really prepared. But despite the lack of planning, our lesson went really well. We also inherited a bunch of pictures for our classroom.

Thursday is our service day. I vacuumed the entrances, cleaned the fire hose boxes, and cleaned out the closets. I was excited for thursday because we didn’t have to teach, but it kind of sucked because we just have longer classes. I was kind of tired during class. I actually understood what was happening in class though, so I really enjoyed class. After class we finished putting up the pictures in our class. Our classroom looks awesome. We also found out that night that we’re directing traffic on wednesday, so that’ll be fun.

Friday was our first general conference choir practice. It was pretty good. Better than I thought it would be. Our songs are awesome. Well one of them is awesome. The other ones are pretty good. We’re gonna sound pretty good for conference. I can’t really remember anything else about friday, sorry.

Saturday we had our second choir practice and then after we had TRCs. Me and Elder Brown had to teach together. They didn’t go very well because we didn’t really plan for them and we were late because of choir. After we had all our classes and nothing really exciting happened. Our lessons went well and I understood some things as usual. After class. We decorated our room even more because I took pictures from our residence hall that I had inherited and hung those up as well. Our walls are pretty much covered.

Sunday was great! They usually are. This sunday’s different though because it’s fast sunday. We first had our priesthood meeting which is really short or just seems like it. Then we had a bunch of extra time in our classes. After, we had our sacrament I bore my testimony and could actually understand other people’s testimony so that’s exciting. Then we had our weekly interview with president Tang and had our temple walk. Then we had dinner and then our choir practice, a kid fainted which was sort of exciting (not really) and it went well. We then went to the devotional which is where we have choir practice. Brother Stephen B Allen, Managing director of the missionary department and his wife Nancy Allen spoke. They talked about Joseph Smith. I talked to Sister Allen after. Her and Brother Allen had recently visited Singapore and said they said my mission president and his wife is awesome. After the devotional me and Eld3er Brown watched Legacy in Mandarin. It didn’t have subtitles and I didn’t really know what was going on the entire time. It was good though.

Today’s been pretty fun. We had choir practice, did laundry, went to the temple, played sand volleyball and four square. You know the usual. I love it here. My testimony is growing, I’m learning chinese, and everything is awesome. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to serve this mission and to share Heavenly Father’s gospel.

Bye, Love you

Elder Wimmer

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

